Aachen 03/14/2001 - Consumers are happy about the deregulation of the energy supply markets, the utility corporations, however, encounter new challenges. Slogans such as new tariff structure, performance contracts, globalization, forwarding contracts and power stock exchange determine the discussion. The fixed contractual frames the utility corporations had to deal with, are increasingly dissolving. Frequent changes will be going to influence the utility market for still some more time.

This change even influences the technical and operational level, in which new challenges ask for new technical solutions to exist in a dynamic market. To achieve this, existing installations have to be adapted to the modified situation, with as little effort and risk as possible.

The municipal utilities of the City of Viersen have accepted this challenge. However, they do not start a general technical overhaul but optimize existing systems. A system based on a Gesytec embedded PC has been installed for the load management in order to equalize today’s insufficiencies of a reliable system in an efficient manner by adding standard devices without modifying the system itself. An additional load profile generator makes the existing load management system suitable for dynamic energy purchase.

Load Management for Dynamic Requirements

In former times load management systems to avoid load peaks were usually adapted to static tariff structures with parameters for peak and off-peak tariffs but fixed to a maximum purchase from a determined supplier. The extension to a further supplier with settlement by the quarter hour under changing tariffs radically modifies the requirements. Now the task of the load management system is to keep the actual consumption below the amount of the total power purchased resulting from both partial purchases. This means not to exceed a dynamically preset amount of electrical power.

Performance schedules from the supplier reflecting the consumption during fixed periods are the basis for load management under new supply conditions. This information (e.g. 33,64 MW from 08:15 until 08:30 on March 24, 2001) exists as file but cannot be processed by the current load management system. It is, however, equipped with meter pulse inputs for power metering, receiving either consumption or own power generation.

Real-Time Meter Pulse Sequences with Embedded PC

By using Gesytec’s Gipsy Micro Embedded PC the he engineering office EnerOPT has developed a solution converting the performance schedules into meter pulse sequences by using suitable pulse parameters to forward them in real-time to the load management system. Hereby the nominal energy purchase evaluated by the load management system is modified and the system maintains the newly preset dynamic power limit without any changes in its software basis.

The system realized consists of an operator dialog (on a PC) and of a Gipsy Micro. The operator dialog, running under all common Windows operating systems, serves for parameterization, conversion of the performance schedules and operation. It reads in the summary performance schedules, checks their plausibility and converts them into meter pulse sequences. Those compact data are serially transferred to the Gipsy Micro, a Windows CE embedded PC. Operating on one of two selectable pule sequences the Gipsy Micro generates meter pulses on one of its digital outputs feeding them to the load management system. Fitted with current time (radio clock synchronized) and winter time/summer time settings the Micro fulfills its function without connected operating dialog. It is provided with a watchdog output for operation monitoring. Termination of the current meter pulse sequence is signaled in good time via an additional output.

The existing load management system receives the meter pulses generated by Gipsy Micro via one of its pulse input channels. It considers the power input recorded as negative consumption resp. as own generation and hereby is up to a dynamic behavior on both sides, consumption and supplier.

Reliable Solution under Windows

Since last autumn, the system is successfully used at the municipal utilities of the City of Viersen and further partner utilities. This solution is very attractive due to its favorable price/performance ratio. A software upgrade of the load management system integrating the handling of a dynamically preset power purchase would have been far more costly than the Embedded PC and the straightforward programming under Windows of the operator dialog and Gipsy Micro.

Further arguments in favor of the Embedded PC based load profile generator:

  • No modification of running systems
  • Simplicity by limitation to a clear task
  • Maintenance free
  • Easy replacements in case of technical reconstruction in the future

A system improvement connecting it to Ethernet networks is currently being prepared. A modification to another input method of basis data will make the system suitable to handle even spot quantities. The application is not limited to load management but can also be used to support forwarding contracts or similar as well as within simulation studies.

Lastoptimierung mit Gipsy Micro

Marktliberalisierung mit Folgen

 

Aachen, März 2001 - Die Liberalisierung der Energiemärkte freut den Verbraucher, stellt jedoch die Energieversorgungsunternehmen (EVU) vor neue Herausforderungen. Schlagworte wie neue Tarifstruktur, Leistungsverträge, Internationalisierung, Durchleitungsverträge, Strombörse bestimmen die Diskussion. Die festen Rahmenbedingungen, unter denen die EVU bisher ihren Auftrag erfüllt haben, lösen sich mehr und mehr auf, steter Wandel prägt das Geschäftsumfeld der EVU wohl noch für geraume Zeit.

Und dieser Wandel greift bis in die technisch-operative Ebene, wo neue Herausforderungen neue technische Lösungen bedingen, um an einem dynamischen Markt bestehen zu können. Dazu sind vorhandene Installationen mit möglichst geringem Aufwand und Risiko an die veränderte Situation anzupassen.

Die Stadtwerke Viersen haben diese Notwendigkeit erkannt. Dort wird kein technischer Rundumschlag geführt, sondern die Optimierung von bestehenden Systemen. So wurde für das Lastführungsmanagement ein System auf der Basis eines Gesytec Embedded PC eingeführt, das die heutigen Unzulänglichkeiten eines bewährten Systems auf effiziente Weise durch Standartgeräte ausgleicht ohne das System selbst zu verändern. Ein ergänzender Lastprofil-Generator macht das bestehende Lastführungssystem nun auch für den dynamischen Energiebezug tauglich.

Lastführung unter dynamischen Anforderungen

Lastführungssysteme zur Vermeidung von Lastspitzen orientierten sich bisher üblicherweise an statischen Tarifstrukturen, parametrierbar für Haupt- und Nebentarif, aber fixiert auf einen Maximalbezug von einem festen Vorlieferanten. Die Erweiterung um einen weiteren Vorlieferaten mit viertelstündlicher Abrechung unter wechselnden Tarifen verändert die Anforderung radikal. Die Aufgabe für das Lastführungssystem lautet nunmehr, den Aktualverbrauch unterhalb des sich aus der Summe der beiden Teilbezüge ergebenden Gesamtbezugs zu halten – also eine dynamische Vorgabeleistung nicht zu überschreiten.

Grundlage der Lastführung unter den neuen Versorgungsbedingungen sind Leistungsfahrpläne vom Vorlieferanten, die den Verbrauch in festen Perioden wiedergeben. Diese Summeninformationen (z.B. 33,64 MW von 08:15 bis 08:30 am 24. März 2001) liegen als Datei vor, können aber so nicht vom aktuellen Lastführungssystem verarbeitet werden. Es gibt jedoch Zählimpulseingänge zur Leistungsmessung, über die sowohl Verbrauch als auch Eigenerzeugung von Leistung aufgeschaltet werden.

Zählimpulsfolgen in Echtzeit mit Embedded PC

Das Ingenieurbüro EnerOPT hat unter Einsatz des Gipsy Micro Embedded PC der Gesytec eine Lösung entwickelt, bei der die Leistungsfahrpläne mittels geeigneter Wichtung in Zählimpulsfolgen umgewandelt und in Echtzeit auf das Lastführungssystem aufgeschaltet werden. Hierdurch ändert sich der vom Lastführungssystem ermittelte Ist-Leistungsbezug, und das System hält die neue dynamische Vorgabeleistung ohne Änderung an seiner Softwarebasis ein.

Das realisierte System besteht aus einem Bediendialog (auf PC) und einer Gipsy Micro. Der Bediendialog, lauffähig unter allen gängigen Windows Betriebssystemen, dient der Parametrierung, der Konvertierung der Leistungsfahrpläne und der Bedienung. Er liest die summarischen Leistungsfahrpläne ein, überprüft sie auf Plausibilität und rechnet sie in Zählimpulsfolgen um. Diese kompakten Darstellungen werden seriell die Gipsy Micro übertragen, einen Windows CE Embedded PC. Die Gipsy Micro arbeitet die gewünschte von zwei verfügbaren Zählimpulsfolgen ab und generiert die Zählimpulse für das Lastführungsystem an einem seiner digitalen Ausgänge. Parametriert mit Uhrzeit (synchronisiert übe DCF-Uhr), Winter/Sommerzeit-Schaltzeitpunkten erfüllt sien Aufgabe auch ohne Bediendialog. Zur Funktionsüberwachung verfügt sie über einen Watchdog. Über einen zusätzlichen Ausgang sie frühzzeitig auf den Ablauf der aktuellen Zählimpulsfolge hin.

Die vom Gipsy Micro generierten Zählimpulse erhält das bestehende Lastführungssystem über einen seiner Impulserfassungskanäle. Es berücksichtigt die derart erfasste Leistung als negativen Verbrauch resp. Eigenerzeugung und ist damit einem dynamischen Verhalten sowohl auf der Verbrauchsseite wie auch von Seiten des Vorlieferanten gewachsen.

Robuste Lösung unter Windows

Das System wird seit letztem Herbst bei den Stadtwerken Viersen und weiteren Partner-EVUs erfolgreich eingesetzt. Attraktiv ist die Lösung durch ihr günstiges Preis/Leistungsverhältnis. So wäre die softwaretechnische Aufrüstung des Lastführungssystems um die Möglichkeit, dynamische Vorgabeleistungen integriert zu berücksichtigen, um eine Größenordnung aufwendiger geworden als der Embedded PC und die durchgängige Programmierung unter Windows von Bediendialog und Gipsy Micro.

Weitere Argumente für den Embedded PC-basierten Lastprofilgenerator waren:

  • Keine Änderung bestehender Systeme
  • Einfachheit durch Beschränkung auf klare Aufgabe
  • Wartungsfreiheit
  • Ersetzbarkeit bei zukünftiger technischer Restrukturierung

Eine Systemverbesserung durch Einbindung in Ethernet Netzwerke ist vorbereitet. Durch eine veränderte Art der Basisdateneingabe wird das System in die Lage versetzt werden, auch Spotmengen zu berücksichtigen. Der Einsatz beschränkt sich nicht auf die Lastführung. Einsatzmöglichkeiten bestehen z. B. im Zusammenhang mit der Unterstützung von Durchleitungsverträgen o.ä. sowie in Simulationsaufgaben.

Kontakt

Ing.-Büro EnerOPT • Herr Peter Kaffanke • Dommerswinkel 84 • 52146 Würselen
Tel.: 02405-467054 • Mobil: 0171-4442776 • email: enerOPT@t-online.de