When "Beast" Meets "Beauty" ...

Aachen 20.03.1998 - When Beauty meets the Beast, and both get closer to each other while singing, the impressive special effects displayed during this fateful encounter are the result of the Easylon I/O modules, a Gesytec development.

These intelligent I/O modules, now built in series, were designed and developed as a project for STATEC Stage Techniques (former Krupp Stage Techniques), as an integral part STACON® stage control system. STACON® system is used by Stella Musicals for performances of "Beauty and the Beast" and "Les Misérables".

The extravagant and extremely modern stage techniques used in "Beauty and the Beast" consist of a main operating console, secondary operating consoles, and a back-up console, also known as a "utility console".

The system controls 50 motors, manages 50 data points and provides a total power source of 750 kW, with on-time delivery to each of the collection points. The power supply modules and the STATEC silent noiseless "whisper winches" (Flüsterwinden® ) are controlled with these consoles via bus connection.

In consideration of the integrated back up concept and the on-site operation, the system focuses on safety and high availability. The back-up design concept allows immediate, selective on-line switching of one or more controlled axes to the back-up console.

The Easylon I/O modules allow selected machine components, either individually or in asynchronous groups, to be operated by any motion lever on the main or secondary consoles, with variable speed adjustment capabilities.

As stated by STATEC, they choose Gesytec modules as a mean to achieving the total design concept, due to their ease of installation and maintenance. Each drive can be switched individually to on-site operation, without influencing the entire system.

"The public expects the perfect illusion once or twice a day. Even the slightest error must not be noticeable. This is why the intelligent, decentralized Easylon modules are an essential part of our operational concept" reported Dr. Mäder of STATEC.

The Easylon I/O- modules are only one of various LonWorks products which were designed by Gesytec and specially manufactured in production quantities for OEM customers.

"Our strategy is to use the broad and flexible Easylon product family as a base concept, adapting an Easylon product to the customer's requirements and eliminating the need for costly new developments", explains Dr. Andreas vom Hemdt, Marketing Manager at Gesytec.

For OEM customers the advantages of working with Gesytec are obvious: proven product reliability at favorable pricing...with optimal delivery times.

Licht und Ton dank Easylon

Wenn das schreckliche Biest auf die Schöne trifft

Aachen 20.03.1998 - Wenn die Schöne auf das Biest trifft und die beiden sich singend näher kommen, dann sorgt die Gesytec im allgemeinen und das Easylon I/O-Module im besonderen dafür, daß das schicksalhafte Geschehen bühnentechnisch eindrucksvoll unterstützt wird.

Im Auftrag der Fa. STATEC Bühnentechnik (vormals Krupp Bühnentechnik) hat Gesytec für das innovative Bühnensteuerungssystem STACON® diese intelligenten I/O-Module entwickelt und liefert sie in Serie. STACON® wird bei den Aufführungen von "Die Schöne und das Biest" sowie "Les Miserables" eingesetzt.
Die aufwendige und hochmoderne Bühnentechnik bei "Die Schöne und das Biest" besteht aus einer Bedienebene, Nebenpulten und dem Back-Up-Pult, auch als "Havariepult" bezeichnet.

Mit dem System werden 50 Motoren gesteuert, 50 Datenpunkte verwaltet und 750 KW Gesamtleistung Strom zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zu den richtigen Abnehmern geleitet. Gesteuert werden von diesen Pulten aus via Bus-Anschluß die Leistungsboxen und die geräuschlosen Flüsterwinden® der Firma STATEC.
Speziell in Hinsicht auf das integrierte Back-Up-Konzept und die Vor-Ort-Bedienung wurden die Schwerpunkte auf Sicherheit und hohe Verfügbarkeit gelegt. Das Back-Up-Konzept ermöglicht eine sofortige, selektive online-Umschaltung einer oder mehrerer rechnergesteuerter Achsen auf das Back-Up-Pult.

Mit Einsatz der Easylon I/O-Module wurde sichergestellt, daß einzelne oder auch in asynchronen Gruppen angewählte Maschinen sich von jedem beliebigen Fahrhebel der Rechnersteuerung auf den Haupt- und Nebenpulten bedienen lassen - und dies zugleich mit variabler Regelung der Geschwindigkeit.
Nach Angaben von STATEC fiel die Entscheidung zugunsten der Gesytec-Module, da mit ihnen die Vorteile einer einfachen Inbetriebnahme- und Wartungsmöglichkeit des Gesamtkonzeptes einfach realisiert werden konnten.
Jeder Antrieb kann unabhängig voneinander auf Bedienung vor Ort umgeschaltet werden, ohne daß die Gesamtanlage beeinflußt wird.

"Ein - bis zweimal täglich muß dem Zuschauer die perfekte Illusion geboten werden, selbst die kleinste Störung muß unbemerkt bleiben. Deshalb sind die intelligenten und dezentral einsetzbaren Easylon-Module ein fester Bestandteil unseres Bedienkonzeptes" so Dr. Mäder von der Fa. STATEC.
Die Easylon I/O- Module sind nur eines von zahlreichen, speziell für den Einsatz bei OEM-Kunden entwickelten und in Serie gelieferten LonWorks-Produkte der Gesytec.

"Unser Konzept besteht darin, auf Basis der breiten Easylon-Familie nicht komplett neu zu entwickeln, sondern die Easylon-Produkte auf den Kunden zuzuschneiden", so Dr. Andreas vom Hemdt, Marketingleiter der Gesytec.
Für den OEM-Kunden liegen die Vorteile auf der Hand: Neben ausgefeilten und kostengünstigen Produkten sind kürzeste Lieferzeiten die besten Argumente für die Kooperation mit Gesytec.